Bummer Bumper Blessings

Monday 2/24/ 2014. 4:30p.m.

My day was over and I decided to go to the local Starbucks coffee shop to read my email and charge my cell phone but mostly to have a cup of coffee. The thought of coffee made me smile. Mmm, I could smell the coffee before I even got to the exit on the freeway. The Starbucks coffee shop was directly off the freeway. You have to switch lanes quickly and turn immediately into their parking lot. When I made the turn, I heard a familiar scraping sound. I drive a small Toyota, New Horizon and I swear they are the lowest rigs on the road. If there is the slightest dip in the driveway, the bumper will hit the ground and on the way back up it will make this horrific, ear jarring noise. You get used to the sound after while. I usually just cringe and wait until it is over.

Today however was different. The horrific ear jarring scrapping sound didn’t stop when I entered the driveway. It continued. I looked in my side view mirror and watched my bumper hit the ground. I started laughing!

destructionI parked my rig and walked over to a hardware store where a older gentleman was in the yard selling his wares. I waited for him to finish with his customer and then when he asked me what I needed, I told him I needed help fixing my bumper. He sort of laughed. “My bumper just fell off, really, it did.” I giggled.  So he followed me over to my rig. “I have some bailing wire and can wire it up for you” he told me and went back to the yard. “I need a welder too do you know any in the area?” He came back with a wire and proceeded to “jerry rig” my rig. It brought the bumper up about 6 inches off the ground. He gave me directions to the welder’s shop. I thanked him as I drove away.

Good Samaritan

Jerry rig

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It took me about 10 min to drive to the welding shop, but as luck would have it being almost 5:00p.m, the shop was closed. Fortunately, across the street there was an auto body shop. So I drove over to it. “We don’t work on R.V.’s. You need a welding shop. Did you try across the street?”
“Yes, but he is closed. Do you know another one?” I smiled pleadingly.
He told me there was another shop about 6 blocks down the road.
By then it was 5:10 p.m. I knew it was closing time but I drove over to the welding shop. The gate to the welding shop was still open even though the sign on the gate said closed at 4:30 p.m..
I parked my rig in their driveway and I walked into the back of their yard. There were three guys welding a large tractor wheel. I just stood there and watched them until one of the men spotted me. “What can I do for you?”
“Well, my bumper just fell off and I need to get it fixed.”
“Let me take a look at it.” He got under the rig and said “Yeah we can fix, it.”
“How much?”I asked him.  He paused. Taking advantage of the pause, I jokingly said “$25?” “Sure $20,” he laughed and lifted his shoulders amused.
He called the two welders over and told them what he wanted them to do–“Fix the bumper for her!” he commanded.
They grabbed their welding equipment and both of them got under the rig to figure out how to fix it.
I need a welder

 

 

 

 

 

One welded while the other one held the bumper in place:

The Jobthe job 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now the Blessing:  By 5:25 the bumper was welded back in place. The bossman came outside to inspect their work. “Okay,” I asked him “How much do I owe you?”
“Nothing! Someone is watching out for you because we are never opened after 4:30. We are closed. Just travel safely and have blessings on your journey.”

I thanked him profusely and left,  still laughing and shaking my head at what had just transpired. I am so thankful for God and his angels taking care of me!

fixed

About A Joyful Ministry/A Joyful Traveler

I love to share spiritual insights and encouraging words. I love to travel. I enjoy writing, photography and making miniatures. I am a fellow adventurer and a gypsy at heart. Ajoyfulministry.wordpress.com/ajoyfultraveler.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Car Troubles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bummer Bumper Blessings

  1. Thelma Lamar says:

    Adonai will never leave you or forsake you!!! Thelma Date: Tue, 25 Feb 2014 04:07:27 +0000 To: tlamar55@hotmail.com

  2. What a happy, happy story.There are many good and helpful people in this world after all. 🙂

  3. Wonderful story! Wonderful people! Are you still in Texas?

Leave a Reply

