100 word challenge: “This time next year”

image

“This time next year…” was all that I had written on the page. My pen had stopped as my mind wandered back to the year just past.
“You have two brain tumors the size of walnuts.” the emergency doctor told my sister.
“How long do I have to live?” she asked fearfully.
“Six weeks.” He replied.
We sat in stunned silence as the doctor left the room.
My sister sat on the gurney looking around the room.
“What are you looking at?” I asked her.
“See the electric outlet?”
“Yeah”.
“It is saying, ‘Oh No’!”
We laughed then cried together.

image

About A Joyful Traveler/A Joyful Ministry

Life is a journey. Come walk with me awhile as I share my love for Travel, Photography, Writing, Animals, and Spiritual Insights with you. Ajoyfulministry.wordpress.com/ajoyfultraveler.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Weekly Writing Challenge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 100 word challenge: “This time next year”

  1. A sad story well told. ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

